Personal tools
You are here: Home News EXTENDED DEADLINE! - Nominations for 2015 Elsevier Foundation Awards in Physics and Maths

EXTENDED DEADLINE! - Nominations for 2015 Elsevier Foundation Awards in Physics and Maths

This year's Elsevier Foundation Awards in Physics and Maths are for Early-Career Women Scientists in the Developing World. So - OWSD Members - if you know a young, gifted and determined mathematician or physicist who deserves recognition and encouragement, and who has demonstrated her commitment to enabling other women scientists to build successful research careers, fill out the nomination form below! The EXTENDED deadline is 15 NOVEMBER 2014.

"This year's winners, like all women undertaking scientific research in developing countries, have certainly faced challenges on the road to this award," said Professor Fang Xin, President of OWSD. “But their determination, commitment and enthusiasm have paid off. The award is recognition that they are excellent scientists and that their research has made an impact both regionally and internationally. They are an inspiration to all young women considering careers in science."

These Awards for Early-Career Women Scientists in the Developing World were launched in 2012 by The Elsevier Foundation, TWAS and OWSD to celebrate the achievements of women scientists in the early stages of their careers, with the aim of creating role models for other women to follow- a step which is critical for retaining top talent and building a stronger research culture in developing countries.

Five Awards are given annually, one each to a female scientist from one of five regions. The Awards rotate between disciplines (physics/math, medical/life sciences, and chemistry). In 2015, the five Awards are in physics and mathematics.

The winners each receive a cash prize of US$5,000, plus all-expenses paid attendance at the annual meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), which in 2015 will be in San Jose, California; as well as one year's access to Elsevier's ScienceDirect and Scopus journals. In addition, this year, given that the award is in Physics and Mathematics, the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) is offering each of the winners free attendance and accommodation at one of ICTP's renowned workshops or conferences in Trieste, Italy.

Winners will also be asked to act as mentors to selected young women scientists undertaking PhD scholarships through the OWSD South-South PhD programme, and may receive training in this regard.  

The 2014 winners (from Yemen, Nigeria, Uzbekistan, Jamaica, and Indonesia) received their awards for excellence in the Chemical Sciences during a special networking breakfast awards ceremony at the AAAS meeting, which last year was held in Chicago. During the week of the conference they had many opportunities to make important research contacts and gain visibility for the important work they are doing. You can read more about their experiences here.


Candidates must be female early-career scientists (within ten years of earning their PhD degree). At nomination, candidates must have lived and worked for at least three years in one of the countries listed here:

Latin America and the Caribbean: Belize, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Nicaragua, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname. East and South-East Asia and the Pacific: Bhutan, Cambodia, Indonesia, Kiribati, Korea DPR, Lao PDR, Mongolia, Myanmar, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Timor-Leste, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, Vietnam. Arab region: Comoros Islands, Djibouti, Mauritania, Somalia, Sudan, Yemen. Central and South Asia: Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Kyrgyzstan, Maldives, Nepal, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan. Sub-Saharan Africa: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo Dem. Rep., Congo Rep., Côte d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.


The competition will be judged by a distinguished panel of international physicists and mathematicians, including members of TWAS, OWSD and ICTP, and chaired by OWSD. The assessment will be based on achievements in the field, with particular attention paid both to the nominees’ contribution to capacity-building in their region, as well as international impact. Winners will be informed of their selection in November/December 2014.


Nominations are invited from senior academics, including OWSD members, TWAS Fellows, ICTP visiting scientists and staff, national science academies, national research councils and heads of departments/universities both in developing and developed countries. Please note that self-nominations are not accepted. Nominations must be made on the nomination form and signed by the nominator; they must include the candidate's curriculum vitae and full list of publications; and be accompanied by three reference letters.

Nomination Form

Click on the link below to download this year's nomination form.

Nomination Form 2015 – Physics and Mathematics

Nominations must reach the OWSD Secretariat by the new extended deadline of 15 November 2014.


Inquiries and completed nomination forms should be addressed to:

OWSD Secretariat, OWSD-Elsevier Awards, ICTP campus, Strada Costiera 11, 34151 Trieste, Italy

Phone: +39 040 2240321  Fax: +39 040 2240689


 A press release describing this year's award released by The Elsevier Foundation can be found here.  

Document Actions